Inside The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

Meeting the ancestors at The Plough Inn, Longparish

I have lovely Aunties. Today I met my Aunty Sand for lunch at The Plough Inn in the pretty village of Longparish. I’m attempting the ancestral family tree and she had some new photos  and names for me. This stuff fascinates me and I love having a picture to a name and piecing together their lives, especially over a hearty pub lunch!

I’m starved, we have a 1.30pm booking and I’ve avoided any nibbling so I can indulge-out

The entrance to The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

The interior is both bright and inviting and actually pretty packed out (I took these piccies after our meal when we were one of the last to leave)

The interior of The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

The interior of The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

We were given a cosy booth. I arrived before Aunty Sand and set up my family tree things, pencils sharpened and everything filed beautifully. A little bit OCD

The interior of The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

Time to check out the lunch menu. There’s dear, pheasant and salmon. All very fur, feather and fin country style – I’m excited

The menu at The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

Aunty Sand opted for the cod which contained things I’d never heard of like Kohlrabi and January King. Still non the wiser. Our lovely waitress poured on the sauce.

Fish dish at The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

A fish dish at The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

I went for the slow cooked pulled pork. It was fantastic. I’d eat it tomorrow. And the next day

Pork belly dish served at The Plough inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

We didn’t have wine (both driving – boo) but they had a neat little wine ‘cellar’ under the stairs

The wine area of The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

Time to pick a dessert. This was difficult and I read it several times. Exciting things like creme fraiche sorbet and carrot jelly. In the end we both asked for the chocolate fondant. Something you only order if you have faith in the restaurant you’re in

Dessert menu at The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

So, 15 more minutes to chatter about this ancestor and that

Inside The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

The chocolate fondant came with Milk Puree and Milk Ice Cream

Chocolate dessert at The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

But was it all softly melty inside? Well, yes! And I wasn’t surprised

Chocolate fondant at The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

Now, things got a bit cheesy

The cheese platter at The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

A large selection of artisan cheeses to be precise

Cheese selection at The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

and service with a smile. Say cheese!

A waitress serving the cheese selection at The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

A waitress serving the cheese selection at The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

The cheese selection at The Plough Inn, a pub in the village of Longparish

Frothy cappuccino and petit fours. The very fruity jelly was so soft and melted instantly on your tongue. With an armful of family photos and a belly full of food I’ve had a great afternoon.

Coffee and petit fours are served at The Plough Inn

If you’ve enjoyed this pub, you’ll also love The Royal Oak, Paley Street it’s top notch too!

3 thoughts on “Meeting the ancestors at The Plough Inn, Longparish

Leave a comment